breakfast

P.P.P.R Biscuits

20130522-060658.jpg
So for the sake of my sanity, can I just get something off my chest. Can we please go over elevator etiquette?? Once the elevator opens, it is always a good idea to wait and see if anyone is actually exiting the elevator. It might not be a good idea to have your back turned, while maneuvering a tremendously huge stroller..and then attempting to get in while clearly someone(as in me) is trying to get out. It’s just too much to worry about day in and day out. I’m glad we had this talk. Now let talk biscuits! I am a huge fan of biscuits, the only problem is you can’t really get a great biscuit here in miami. So I usually opt to make my own, the biscuits I am making today are pancetta, Parmesan, black pepper, rosemary biscuits. Try saying that three times! By the way I did not hold down the P on my keyboard for too long. I figured the title alone would of been to long so I decided to abbreviate. I’m cool like that. These biscuits are phenomenal, here’s what I did.

20130521-192919.jpg
Here we have the pancetta, Parmesan, rosemary and black pepper. It’s about 1/4 pound of pancetta, I know it can be pricey but this came out to be less that 3 dollars. So I was a happy camper. If you didn’t want to use pancetta you could totally use bacon, or just omit it.

20130521-193227.jpg
Oh yeah I forgot to tell you, we are making this in the food processor. So easy, you just add all the dry ingredients to the food processor and then add the cold butter to the mixture and the pulse several times.

20130521-193639.jpg
You want it to look like this, I don’t know if you can tell but it should look like coarse crumbs.

20130521-193802.jpg
Your going to want to combine the milk and egg together before slowly adding it to the mixture and then pulse until almost combined.

20130521-193950.jpg
Then you just add the rest of the ingredients and pulse a few times.

20130521-194055.jpg
I just dump the dough onto a floured surface and pat out to the thickness I want. Then I just cut them out, with a round cutter.

20130521-194234.jpg
So I added an egg wash on top of each biscuit and then sprinkled each with some Parmesan cheese and copious amounts of black pepper.

20130521-194424.jpg
Those are some mighty good looking biscuits. It’s taking everything inside if me not to just eat one straight from the oven. How could I make this any better???

20130521-194613.jpg
That’s right a fried egg sandwich, I went there. Oh and I’m not ashamed….confession I devoured two biscuits in one sitting. I cannot be held accountable for what happens once I’m done photographing these beauties. Enjoy!

P.P.P.R Biscuits
Adapted from Joy of Baking

Ingredients:

Biscuit Recipe:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cake flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 tsp cream of tarter
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon granulated white sugar
1 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
3/4 cup cold milk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 tablespoon rosemary
1/4 pound pancetta
1/4 cup of Parmesan plus 2 tablespoons set aside
2 tsp black pepper

Topping:

1 large egg, lightly beaten with 1 tablespoon milk

Instructions:

Biscuit Recipe: Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and place rack in the middle of the oven. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Cut pancetta into bite sized cubes and cook over medium high heat until crispy. Remove from heat and drain on paper towel.

In a food processor or large mixing bowl, whisk or pulse together the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, cream of tarter and sugar. Cut the butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs or pulse a few times if using a food processor. Add the milk and slightly beaten egg and stir until just combined. The texture should be sticky and moist.

Next add the pancetta, Parmesan, rosemary to the mixture. Pulse it a few times until combined, if doing it by hand add it to the bowl and mix with a spoon until combined.

Place mixture on a lightly floured surface. Knead the dough gently until it comes together and is a smooth dough.

Pat dough out to about a 1/2 inch thickness. Cut out biscuits with a lightly floured round cookie cutter. Place on prepared baking sheet and brush the tops with the beaten egg and milk mixture then sprinkle with the remaining Parmesan and black pepper on top of each biscuit. Bake for about 10 – 15 minutes or until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center of the biscuit comes out clean. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack. Serve warm with butter or make a fried egg sandwich!

Makes about 7 mammoth biscuits

2 thoughts on “P.P.P.R Biscuits

Leave a Reply

