cookies

Bunheads and cookies

Has anyone heard of the show Bunheads? I am obsessed with this show, it comes on ABC family. It has to do with young ballerina dancers and there struggles as teenagers, but it also features the lives of there instructors. I just love the humor in this show, it is so witty. It’s from the creators of Gilmore Girls, so if you liked that I don’t see why you wouldn’t like this show. I just thought you might like to have something to watch while you bake these cookies, at least this was what I was watching when I made these beauties.

20130318-200427.jpg

So the cookies I am going to make for you today are Neiman Marcus cookies. It is rumored that the customer paid $250 dollars accidentally for this cookie recipe thinking she was being charged $2.50. So below is a recipe for these cookies. Have you ever used silpats? I love them because nothing ever sticks to them and you don’t have to use extra oil or grease when baking. While they are a bit on the pricey side, I have had mine for 6 years and they are still going strong, I highly recommend them.

20130318-200605.jpg

Neiman Marcus Cookies

1/2 cup (1 stick) sweet butter
1 cup light brown sugar
1 egg
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. instant coffee powder
1 1/2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips ( I used dark chocolate chips instead)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Beat the butter and sugar together, and add the egg and vanilla.

20130318-201515.jpg

Sift together the remaining dry ingredients, including the coffee powder.

20130318-201706.jpg
Stir the dry ingredients into the butter mixture and mix in chocolate chips.

20130318-201816.jpg
Roll into balls and place 2 inches apart and bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes.
It makes about 2 dozen.
While this isn’t my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe it is still fairly good. I’m a sucker for trying out new cookie recipes. Whip up a batch of these while enjoying an episode of Bunheads. You will be happy you did.

20130318-202449.jpg

Leave a Reply

