cupcakes

Gluten-free lemon cupcakes

20130322-191950.jpg
So it was my cousins wife’s birthday last weekend and I decided I wanted make her cupcakes. The tricky part is that she has a gluten allergy, so regular cupcakes were out of the question. I searched high and low for recipes, but I just couldn’t find one I really liked. So as I was shopping at Marshall’s the other day I came across this little gem.

20130322-192241.jpg
I know, I know it’s boxed cake mix, but I figured I’d give it a shot. Lets face it a gluten free mix at 4.99 is a pretty good deal in my book. So I apologize if I offend anyone from using boxed cake mix. I might be able to redeem myself by saying that I did make my own cream cheese frosting which was located in the back of the box and was amazing.

20130322-192531.jpg
So now came the hard part, what cupcake liner will I use. In my search for the perfect cupcake liner, I came to realize that I may be on the verge of hoarding, when it comes to these things. I have more than any baker should, but that’s another story. By the way I get all of my sprinkles and cupcake liners at Sweet Life Cake and Candy Supply. If your in the Miami area check them out. They have really great products and I find them to be more affordable than Michaels at times.


They baked up beautifully, I have to admit I had my doubts. But I feel they turned out nice and baked up evenly. I like to use an ice cream scoop to add the batter to each liner, I find that they tend to all come out the same size. I’m a sucker for perfection when baking. Lets just say the OCD really kicks in.
Now it’s time to give you this fabulous lemon cream cheese frosting recipe.

Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

1 pkg. 8 oz cream cheese (softened)
1/4 c unsalted butter (softened)
2 Tbs lemon juice
1 pkg (16 oz) powdered sugar
Beat cream cheese, butter and juice with mixer until well blended. Gradually add the powdered sugar, beating after each addition until combined. Then frost your cupcakes once they are cooled.

20130322-194200.jpg
These came out great and didn’t taste like boxed cake mix. I would totally do this again. I’m not ashamed, I still made my own frosting which is the whole reason you eat a cupcake…it’s an excuse to eat copious amounts of frosting on a little itty bitty piece of cake. I was just really surprised that something this good could come from a department store. I went in for a blouse and came out with cupcakes, go figure.

20130322-194621.jpg

This is how I packaged these beauties, I got these containers from Sweet life as well. I hope you’ll try looking for these cupcakes and make them yourself. They were a hit! Trust me on this one.

2 thoughts on “Gluten-free lemon cupcakes

Leave a Reply

