Dinner

Crabby Patty Melt

Who lives in a pineapple under the sea….not me, and frankly it really doesn’t seem like a pleasant place to live. Can you imagine the home owners insurance on that thing! Yeah me and the yellow sponge used to go way back, that is until he became famous and well, now he won’t even return my phone calls…not cool Mr.Spongy pants, not cool.
I was craving a patty melt in a bad way the other day so I came up with this recipe,I’m not even sure you could call it a recipe, but I’ll give you all the info anyways.
The inspiration for the title came about because I love Spongebob Squarepants, as you probably have already guessed. My niece introduced me to it when she was like 10 and now she’s 17, I don’t think she cares much for it anymore these days. However I have remained a true fan, together till the end.

Crabby Patty Melts
1lb lean ground sirloin
1 yellow onion
Salt and pepper to taste
Crusty whole grain loaf
Sugar
Muenster cheese
Butter

Separate the ground beef into 4 patties, I just put it in a bowl and score the meat to get 4 even pieces. Heat your cast iron skillet or non stick pan and add 1 tablespoon of butter. Make sure the pan is hot so you get a great crust on your burger.

20130325-170528.jpg
While the meat browns, start heating another skillet and chop the onion, add 1 tablespoon of butter to the heated pan and sauté the onions on medium low heat and add a pinch of sugar. I kind of got impatient so they didn’t brown as much as I would like, but your going for a deep golden color, your basically caramelizing the onions.

20130325-170909.jpg
Once the onions and burger patties are cooked, set them aside and start heating the cast iron pan again and add 1 tablespoon of butter, along with 4 bread halves and assemble. I did a layer of bread, then cheese, burger patty, Carmelized onions and another slice of cheese and then put another slice of bread on top. I let it sit for about two minutes on medium heat and kept peeking to make sure the bread didn’t burn, then I flipped it and did the same thing on the other side.

20130325-171349.jpg
I served this with a Black Bean and corn salad, I found this on Food Network. The recipe is by Rachael Ray, just click the link I have provided, it’s phenomenal! I just couldn’t help myself, I forgot to take a picture before I bit into it. Enjoy!

20130325-173732.jpg

Leave a Reply

