breakfast

Not just any banana bread

What happens when you are loafing on your couch, watching Big Bang Theory and staring at overly ripened bananas from your couch? You get banana bread, but not just any banana bread, you get banana bread with streusel topping!

20130409-202112.jpg
This is what I was dealing with, I know how cliche it must be of me to do a banana bread, but I am a sucker for homemade banana bread. Also I can’t eat raw bananas, I actually have a bit of an allergy to them. What happens is I get a really itchy tongue and throat, but ironically enough I can eat it cooked! Weird huh?

20130409-202710.jpg
I really feel the streusel makes this bread. I would eat this in a hat with a bat, I would eat it hear or there, I would eat it anywhere. Don’t you just love Dr. Seuss? I’ll stop now and give you the fabulous recipe.

Banana bread with Streusel topping
This recipe was adapted from Simply Recipes
3 bananas, smashed
1/3 cup canola oil
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg, beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon allspice
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
Pinch of salt
1 cup of all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Mix canola oil into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour and spices last and mix. Pour mixture into a buttered loaf pan.

Streusel Topping
½ cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup brown sugar, packed
½ stick unsalted butter
½ tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp allspice
1/8 tsp nutmeg

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until crumbly. You could always just mix everything in a bowl, with a pastry blender or by hand.

Sprinkle over you banana bread and put in the oven for 1 hour. It only took my oven 45 minutes, so adjust as needed.
Yield: Makes one loaf.

20130409-204217.jpg
Nothing beats a freshly brewed espresso, unless you have freshly baked banana bread. I’m in heaven, excuse me while I abandon all self control and devour the whole thing. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

