breakfast

Chia, Flax Granola Oh my!

20130428-184603.jpg
I am a huge fan of granola, however I am also quite the granola snob. Let me explain, a lot of granola out there is full of sugar, which is no bueno in my book. So what does a girl do when she can’t find a good brand of granola??? She makes her own of course! This granola recipe is full of nutrients, you have chia seeds and golden flax seed. Can I be real with you, up until a few months ago the only chia seed I had heard of was in the chia pet. Ch ch ch chia! You know you were all thinking it! I did add some brown sugar and dark chocolate chips, because chocolate makes everything better, which means I also added some antioxidants…thank you very much.

20130428-185616.jpg
Here we have the fabulous granola all nicely baked up. I’m not even going to lie to you right now, there was a lot more granola when I started taking pictures, all I keep doing is snacking on this stuff. What could possibly make this granola any better????

20130428-185914.jpg
Yeah, you guessed right a parfait. All I did here was add some Greek yogurt, orange marmalade, honey and granola. Can you say breakfast, or healthy snack???

20130428-190128.jpg
Here’s the perfect spoonful just for you. Get some granola in your life, because its the right thing to do. I feel like a giddy school girl, who just had her crush ask her for her number. I know granola makes me act kind of weird. This will totally perk up your yogurt and taste buds. Oh yeah, you can certainly make this gluten free, by changing out the oats to gluten free oats. Yeah that just happened. Enjoy!

Chia, Golden Flax Granola

1 1/4 c rolled oats
1/4 c golden flax seed
1/4 c chia seeds
1/4 c dark chocolate chips
2 tbs sweetened shredded coconut
1 1/4 c *heart healthy nut mix
2 Tbs + 1 tsp canola oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbs brown sugar
2 1/2 Tbs honey

Preheat oven to 350.
Mix all ingredients into bowl. Spread onto a sheet pan lined with either parchment paper or silpat, and bake for 20 minutes. Allow to cool and enjoy!

* The nut mix I used I found at The Fresh Market where they have all the wooden barrels. My mix had dried cranberries,pumpkin seeds, almonds, sunflower seeds, walnuts. Choose whatever mix you like though. Also the flax and chia seeds, I got them at Whole foods in the bulk section. I love this area because you can get just what you need.

20130428-190448.jpg

Leave a Reply

