breakfast

Conchas

Hello, and happy day after Cinco de Mayo! Sorry for yelling, I realize some of us might of had a few too many tequila shots last night. However, I do hope you all had some fine Mexican food, whether it be tacos, margaritas, piña coladas. I made tacos and these wonderful conchas.

20130505-190234.jpg
I’m not sure many of you might be familiar, with these. I’ve never seen them here in miami, it’s actually been well over 15 years I think since I’ve had these. They are a Mexican sweet bread, I remember having these as a child, when I would go visit my family in Matamoros, Mexico, I know the name sounds horrible, kind of like death. But I assure you it was a great time had by all. I mean there was no running water really and well when you showered you had to heat up water and put it in a bucket. Oh and air conditioning was the breeze coming in from the open patio door… like I said good times.

20130505-190827.jpg
I found this recipe at Pati’s Mexican table the link will take you to the recipe. It was actually quite easy to make, just a little time consuming because you have to wait for the bread to rise a few times.

20130505-191048.jpg Once you have the dough at this stage you have to set it aside and allow it to rise, for about 2 to 8 hours. Let me be honest with you, at this point I went out and came home kind of late. So I just put it in the fridge over night and left it out the next morning and allowed it to come to room temperature.

20130505-191334.jpg
As you can see the dough has risen quite a bit. So don’t panic if it doesn’t rise in two hours, you could always do what I did and leave it over night.

20130505-191742.jpg
The recipe makes two toppings, we have regular and chocolate. I have always been a fan of the regular, but I figured chocolate wouldn’t be such a bad idea either.

20130505-192008.jpg
Once you’ve portioned out your dough your going to make the topping into flat disks, like the photo above and lay it gently on top of the dough.

20130505-192151.jpg
They should look like this when they are done. I failed to mention that concha basically means conch shell. So you want to make a pretty design on top, resembling a conch shell. Once you’ve done this your going to set it aside for another 2 hours before baking. I know it’s quite the process, but it is so worth it and I mean with all this waiting you could totally make yourself a margarita or two. Just sit back and relax, it’s the right thing to do. Your patience will pay off, grasshopper.

20130505-192701.jpg
Ok so bake these suckers for 20 to 24 minutes at 350 degrees, and you will have this wonderful treat. I love eating this with a nice cup of coffee. But as a child I loved having this with a nice mug of hot chocolate. I have nothing but fond memories, traveling from Houston to Mexico by van with my cousins. We still talk about the good times, and to be honest I don’t know how our parents put up with a van full of yelling children. Not to mention there was no GPS, we were going off of a map and they actually trusted us to read it. I hope you will try these Conchas from Pati’s Mexican Table or at least go to a Mexican bakery and give them a try. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

