Cakes

Lemon Yogurt Cake

20130512-171010.jpg
So yesterday was Mother’s Day, I hope you all had a wonderful time. We took my mother out to brunch and bought her some flowers and a card. Lets face it mothers are suckers for a really good card. My sisters card actually made my mother cry, it actually almost made me cry…two thumbs up for hallmark.

20130512-171239.jpg
The three of us together, it seems like the older we get the harder it is to have these special moments together. I’m going to make a bigger effort to do these things more often, not just on holidays. Can we have some real talk for a moment? This Mother’s Day has kind of affected me emotionally, we are in the process of trying to start a family. I honestly thought that I would be pregnant by now, I know it’s only been 5 months of trying. But when you got your family asking you when’s it going to happen or the Home Depot guy tells you happy Mother’s Day, you almost feel like a failure. I know it’ll happen when the time is right, but it’s really tearing at my heart strings. Sorry to be such a downer, but enough of that, lets talk about cake!
I’m a lover of anything with lemon in it, I’m also a huge fan of Ina Garten. She makes the most amazing desserts. I sometimes have dreams about having brunch in her garden. Is it weird that I dream about Ina?

20130512-172513.jpg
Yeah that’s right, this lemon yogurt cake has a glaze, and a lemon simple syrup drizzle before. Moist, moist, moist, because “ain’t nobody got time for dry cake”!

20130512-172735.jpg
Don’t you just love the plate? I kind of took it from my aunts china cabinet, when she wasn’t looking. My heart was racing the whole time I was photographing these pictures. It kind of made me feel alive! Being bad feels good…

20130512-172959.jpg
Lemon yogurt cake, make it…like right now. This one is so much better than the one from Starbucks. Thank you to Danielle for helping me take these pictures. Also thank you to my sissy poo, for being my sidekick. She helped me avoid my aunt while I took these pictures. Sisterly love, there’s nothing like it. Enjoy your day, but make this cake!

Lemon Yogurt Cake
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup plain greek yogurt
1 1/3 cups sugar, divided
3 extra-large eggs
2 teaspoons grated lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
For the glaze:
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour an 8 1/2 by 4 1/4 by 2 1/2-inch pan.
Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt into 1 bowl. In another bowl, combine the yogurt, 1 cup sugar, eggs, lemon zest, and vanilla. Whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. With a rubber spatula, fold the vegetable oil into the batter, until it’s all incorporated. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 50 minutes, or until a cake tester placed in the center of the loaf comes out clean. My cake took about an hour to bake. So oven times may vary.
Meanwhile, cook the 1/3 cup lemon juice and remaining 1/3 cup sugar in a small pan until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is clear. Set aside.
When the cake is done, allow it to cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Place on a baking rack over a sheet pan. While the cake is still warm, pour the lemon-sugar mixture over the cake and allow it to soak in. Cool.
For the glaze, combine the confectioners’ sugar and lemon juice and pour over the cake.

Leave a Reply

