Dinner

Lighter side of Chicken Parmesan

So I am a huge fan of Diners Drive-ins and Dives. I love going to different mom and pop places and hole in the wall joints, or are those what you would call dives? Any hoo, I saw the most amazing chicken Parmesan recipe on the show and well that’s how this recipe happened. Only get this, it’s not as heavy as the traditional version and it’s not deep fried or breaded, thank you very much. I feel this recipe has got the heat and the sweet, well maybe not the sweet and well no heat either but I just couldn’t help myself. I had to quote Guy Fieri, sometimes I actually like to talk in his voice. The only downside to that is that you get a lot of weird stares, maybe I should stop doing that….
Ok, enough with all these shenanigans…I love that word. Lets get cookin!

20130514-190145.jpg
Here we have 3 mammoth sized chicken breasts, which I have butterlied. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic powder and oregano. Then I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes.

20130514-190351.jpg
This is what it looks like once it’s cooked. Here is where it gets interesting, that is if you didn’t already know that we were making chicken Parmesan. Lets move on, shall we.

20130514-190639.jpg
So now we are going to get, spaghetti sauce ( I used Bertolli marinara), parmesan, tomato, basil from my garden or your local grocery store, I don’t think I have enough for everyone, flat leaf parsley and shredded cheese. I didn’t have mozzarella, all I had was sharp cheddar so I went with it, it did the job. Don’t be like me, get some mozzarella.

20130514-191153.jpg
This is what it looks like with all the toppings before baking. You are doing sauce, tomato, basil, shredded cheese and Parmesan. You are going to bake these babies for another 10 minutes, at this point your only melting the cheese.

20130514-191817.jpg
You have all the cheesy goodness without all the guilt and it’s gluten free too…. I think. Pure awesomeness in my book, I feel like I’m having something bad for me only it’s not.

20130514-192312.jpg
I like to garnish the chicken with some parsley and serve it with a big salad. Bada bing bada boom, there you have it “I’m gonna make you an offer you can’t refuse” make this dish! It’s easy do it or I’ll keep quoting The Godfather until you give in “leave the gun and take the cannolli” Clemenza was a wise man. Enjoy!

Light Chicken Parmesean

3 chicken breasts
2 tsp salt
2 tsp pepper
2 tsp garlic powder
2 tsp oregano
1/2 cup spaghetti sauce (I used Bertolli marinara)
1 tomato
9 basil leaves
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1 handful flat leaf parsley chopped

Butterfly the chicken breast (fancy word for cut in half, your not cutting all the way through just about half way) add salt, pepper, garlic powder and oregano. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

When timer goes off remove chicken from the oven and add 1 tbs spaghetti sauce, 2 or 3 slices of tomato, 3 to 4 basil leaves whole, 2 tbs shredded cheese and 1 tsp Parmesan cheese. Do this to each chicken breast. These are guidelines, put as much or as little as you’d like. Put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes and if your feeling really adventurous broil it for a few minutes to get that the cheese can brown on top. Add the flat leaf parsley right before serving, as a garnish. I like to serve it with a salad, but feel free to get creative with sides.

Leave a Reply

