breakfast

Breakfast Burritos

Today I kind of feel like the kids from The Cat and The Hat cartoon. You know the scene where they are just staring out of the window bored. Only I’m staring out my window, because I’m waiting for the AC tech to get here! I have been without AC since last Tuesday, and this is defitnetly no bueno! I live in Miami for god sakes, and no we totally bypassed spring and went straight into summer. There is nothing funny about not having AC right now. But when you have an old house,
problems occur. So while you wait, you think of different recipes you could concoct. Ok when you are me you start coming up with different recipes as you wait. This is how these breakfast burritos came about.

20130518-091248.jpg
I made this without any meat, but feel free to add some bacon or sausage. I would of added bacon, had I had some. I know I’m out of bacon, clearly I have issues! Just give me a break this time, I am delirious from all this heat.

20130518-091520.jpg
Ok we have some red bell pepper, sweet vidalia onion and jalapeño for heat. Believe it or not the heat from the jalapeño will actually help us cool down during this heat crisis.

20130518-091700.jpg
Oh but wait, I almost forgot we are adding potatoes to this baby. I just poked some hole in the potato and wrapped it in a paper towel and microwaved it for about 3 minutes. Voila you have a cooked potato, no boiling required.

20130518-091926.jpg
The potato mixture all cooked up, I added some cumin, garlic powder and chili powder. I also added a couple of dashes of Tabasco sauce, because I’m a rebel and I like it hot.

20130518-092246.jpg
So I scrambled some eggs, and I’m using a whole wheat tortilla. My favorite brand right now is actually Archer Farms whole wheat tortillas. I like the flavor, they don’t taste like cardboard and it makes me feel like I’m doing something good.

20130518-092451.jpg
The finished product, I added salsa and sour cream and added some fruit to balance out the meal. But feel free to add whatever you like. This is just a base of what you can do with these burritos. Your only limited to your imagination with these. You can also make a bunch of these and just freeze them so you can have a great breakfast throughout the week. So the AC guy is here, gotta run. Wish me luck! Enjoy!

Breakfast Burritos

1/2 red bell pepper diced
1/4 vidalia onion diced ( I had a really huge onion) or 1/2 of a regular
1/2 jalapeño diced
2 or 3 small red diced potatoes
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1 to 2 dashes of Tabasco sauce
3 large eggs
3 whole wheat tortillas
1/2 cup shredded cheese( I used 2% reduced fat Mexican blend)
Salsa and sour cream optional

Poke each potato with a fork several times and wrap each one in a wet paper towel. Place each potato on a microwave safe plate and cook for about three minutes. When finished poke potato with a knife to make sure they are cooked. If not completely cooked nuke it for a few more minutes.

In a non stick skillet, I used some Pam, then add the peppers, onion and jalapeño and sauté until soft, then add the diced potatoes. Now add in the cumin, chili powder, garlic powder,Tabasco and salt and pepper to taste. Cook for 2 to 3 more minutes.

Once finished set it aside in a bowl, now crack your 3 eggs and add salt and pepper to taste, or and if your like me some more Tabasco sauce. We are scrambling the eggs here.

While you do this, heat up the tortillas in the microwave for about 30 seconds, this will help make your tortillas more pliable.

Evenly distribute the eggs amongst the three tortillas, then add a couple of tablespoons of the potato mixture, and about two tablespoons of cheese. Roll these guys up and there you have it. Breakfast burritos, great for meatless Mondays!

These are really easy to freeze and then just reheat in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

