Dinner

Cuban Frita Sliders

20130528-211653.jpg
I don’t know why, but Memorial Day always makes me want to break out the BBQ and start grilling some fresh corn with some burgers and hot dogs. Lets not forget the lemonade, you have to have lemonade at a BBQ, along with some booze…lots and lots of booze. What I chose to make for Memorial Day were Cuban Frita Sliders. In case you’ve never had one of these, they are a heavily spiced burger made by a Cuban. Ok before I get a lot of guff for saying what I said, I am half cuban and well Cubans did make up this burger. You can find it here in miami, I’m not sure that you can get this anywhere else. So I’ve given you an even better option, you can make it for yourself and I’ll give you permission not to share. These burgers also have a secret sauce, I’ll give you the recipe if you pinky swear not to tell anyone. I knew we were cool like that, so lets get on with the show.

20130528-212454.jpg
You got spice, onion and the biggest garlic clove on this god forsaken earth. I may or may not have bought elephant garlic by accident…you see these things happen, it’s called real life. But if you have regular garlic I’d say 3 to 4 cloves will do. We are injecting flavor into these bad boys.

20130528-212725.jpg
Now we make the famous secret sauce, we have paprika and cumin amongst other things. You pinky swore so I know our secret is safe.

20130528-212906.jpg
Oh I forgot to tell you, we are doing this in a food processor. I know I’m a genius, dump it all in and pulse about 6 to 7 times until combined. But don’t over mix, nobody likes a tough burger or a pinky swear breaker.

20130528-213131.jpg
This is what it looks like once it’s all combined. Now we are going to form into mini burger patties, because we are making sliders.

20130528-213259.jpg
All I did here was fry the burger patties in some olive oil. If you own a cast iron skillet I recommend making them in that. This is not burnt, this is caramelization. I’m bringing you over to flavor town, that’s right I said flavor town.

20130528-213556.jpg
Don’t even think about omitting these potato stix. It is just sacrilege to not add the potato stix, and I am we’ll aware the I have spelled stix wrong. But the package says stix, I am a lover not a fighter. Bare with me here, no potato stix no frita. I also like to buy a multigrain roll, I feel like I’m being good even though I am being very, very bad.

20130528-214057.jpg
Such perfection, serve these up with some plantain chips and you got yourself the best meal ever! Now excuse me as I proceed to scarf these babies down. Remember pinky up, I am a lady after all. Enjoy!

20130528-214246.jpg

Cuban Frita Sliders

1/2 pound ground pork
1/2 pound lean ground beef
1 Tbs sweet paprika
1 tsp 1/2 cumin
3 to 4 garlic cloves grated
1/4 large yellow onion or 1/2 small grated
1 tsp 1/2 salt
1/2 tsp pepper
2 tbs ketchup
8 whole grain rolls
Potato stix

Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Make sure to grate the onion and garlic, so that the flavors are distributed evenly. Pulse about 6 to 7 times until combined. If you don’t own a food processor, use a bowl and mix by hand until combined. Just try not to over mix.
Form burgers into patties, I got 8 small patties and lightly fry in a cast iron skillet about 3 minutes on each side.

Frita Secret Sauce

2 Tbs Ketchup
1 Tbs tomato paste
1/2 tsp sweet paprika
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
2 tsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
5 Tbs water

Combine all ingredients over medium high heat and cook for 3 to 4 minutes until heated through.

To assemble, slice the rolls in half and add the frita patty, then some sauce I’ll let you be the judge of how much you’d like to add and then as much potato stix as you can fit. Repeat this 8 times. You will not be disappointed in these,
Trust me.

Leave a Reply

